Red Hat Certified Specialist in Enterprise Application Server Administration exam (EX248, EX248K) Course Details:

The RHCJA certification is for system administrators or application developers whose responsibilities include the deployment, implementation, and management of JBoss® Enterprise Application Platform (JBoss EAP) and its applications.

This credential helps to ensure JBoss enterprise solutions are optimized to meet specific needs and establishes credibility for companies and IT professionals who need to provide a high level of service to their customers.

In preparation:

Red Hat recommends that candidates earn Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) or Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) before attempting this exam, but neither is required. An understanding of core concepts in Java Enterprise Edition is useful, but candidates do not need to be developers nor does this exam involve application development tasks.

To help you prepare, the exam objectives highlight the task areas you can expect to see covered in the exam. These objectives apply to both Red Hat EAP 6 and EAP 6.3.

Red Hat reserves the right to add, modify, and remove exam objectives. Such changes will be made public in advance.

Study points for the exam:

Using Red Hat JBoss EAP, RHCJA exam candidates should be able to accomplish the tasks below without assistance. The tasks have been grouped into categories to assist your preparation.

    No classes are currenty scheduled for this course.

    Call (919) 283-1653 to get a class scheduled online or in your area!

1. Install and manage JBoss EAP

  • Install JBoss EAP to a specific location on a system
  • Install additional, operating system specific native libraries to enhance JBoss EAP performance
  • Configure minimal security requirements for accessing and managing JBoss EAP
  • Access and manage JBoss EAP using the provided tools
  • Configure and start a multi-node, multi-server JBoss EAP domain spanning at least two hosts with multiple servers per host

2. Configure JBoss EAP domains, hosts and servers

  • Create and remove JBoss EAP domains, hosts and servers
  • Start, monitor and stop individual JBoss EAP domains, hosts and servers
  • Configure Java™ memory usage at the host, server group and server level

3. Configure JBoss EAP to support clustered and HA operation

  • Configure persistent network bindings for JBoss EAP services (both addresses and ports)
  • Configure high-availability clustering using either TCP unicast or UDP multicast networking
  • Secure the communications channels between clustered nodes
  • Configure an Apache based load balancer for handling HTTP session fail over in a HA environment

4. Monitoring and managing JBoss EAP

  • Create and restore configuration snapshots
  • Configure JBoss EAP logging
  • Configure and secure JBoss EAP JMX interface for external monitoring

5. Configuring Java Messaging Service

  • Create and configure JMS topics and queues
  • Secure access to JMS destinations

6. Manage applications

  • Select appropriate JBoss EAP server profiles based on application requirements
  • Configure DataSources (both XA and non-XA compliant)
  • Deploy and undeploy applications
  • Deploy and undeploy additional libraries and drivers
  • Deploy a web application to the root context

7. Configure JBoss Web Connectors

  • Tune and configure JBoss EAP web connector properties as requested
  • Configure Apache integration with JBoss EAP
  • Configure an SSL encrypted connection

8. Configure JBoss EAP security

  • Create, modify, and use security domains
  • Connect JBoss EAP to specified external security sources such as LDAP and DBMS
  • Secure access to JBoss EAP services

*Please Note: Course Outline is subject to change without notice. Exact course outline will be provided at time of registration.
  • Application server systems administrators
  • Application administrators
  • Application developers
  • Deployment managers
  • System architects
  • Quality assurance engineers

Ready to Jumpstart Your IT Career?